Skip to content

Just what does a steampunk Jean Grey look like, anyway?

June 23, 2013
tags:

Finally seem to have gotten the heating problem nailed down, so now it’s time to figure out what this thing’s actually going to look like. My basic plan is:

  • Green corset (with the emblem on the chest, of course)
  • Gold fluffy steampunk-esque skirt of some sort
  • Reuse the gold stiletto pointy boots I painted for She-Ra

This leaves a few questions based on Actual Jean Grey’s costume (pictured at right):

  • Gold gloves… hot when I’m already melting, and I’m not a big fan of gloves. But maybe shorter, leather gloves painted with gold Rub ‘n Buff?
  • The turtlenecky bit… maybe do a leather collar sort of bit… like a dickey but not? A massive choker? What would you call that? (I wisely stopped short before finishing a Google search for “leather collar,” which will now be the search term for all the incoming hits here.) with an X-Men logo buckle at the center of the neck?
  • I’m thinking the skirt should wispy to emulate the sash, but I also need to make sure that all of the battery packs and such are hidden.
  • Tights? Fishnets? Hmm… Might depend on what the skirt looks like.

Another possibility for the glove/collar situation would be a shrug like this, though not lace:

Next up: make-up and Big Fluffy Hair ideas!

No comments yet

Leave a comment