Skip to content

Sugary sweet beer bread

March 31, 2010

In the latest installment of “modify some random recipe from the Internet,” I went with this recipe for Guinnness bread with molasses. Here’s my version:

3 cups self-rising flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/8 tsp kosher salt
1/3 cup molasses
1 bottle stout beer (used a homebrew we had in the fridge)

Mix the dry. Add the wet. Stir with a spoon. Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.

It tasted like drinking a stout beer with a sugar-rimmed glass in the form of bread. Surprising, but tasty. I’d probably do it again. I bet it would be great with some cinnamon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 5:56 pm

    I love dark beer. If I can convince my wife to try it, I’ll let you know. Do you need a bread-maker for this?

  2. Ruth permalink*
    August 4, 2010 6:00 pm

    Nope–in fact, I have a bread machine gathering dust thanks to the KitchenAid. I use the dough hook in it to do all my kneading work (because I am a weak girly girl), and then bake as usual in loaf pans in the oven.

    But in the case of the Guinness bread, it’s one of those “just get it mixed” recipes rather than being like bread where you really have to work it. So for this recipe, a regular ol’ sturdy spoon will do.

Leave a Reply

