Skip to content

The best cinnamon chip muffins

March 29, 2010

I needed to make cinnamon muffins for a brunch baby shower. I thought my family would have to “suffer” through the experiments. But I lucked up on the first round. I found this recipe and adapted it thusly:

Cinnamon CHIP muffins

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 bag of cinnamon chips

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices. Whisk the egg, milk and oil in another bowl. Make a well in the dry and pour in the wet. I read another blog that said you can never have too-lumpy muffin batter. Drop a little bit of flour (just 2 tablespoons or so should be plenty) into the bag of cinnamon chips and shake to coat them. That keeps them from sinking. Pour them all into the batter and stir in.

Spoon into 12 greased or paper lined muffin cups). Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

The first time I made them, I brushed the tops with melted butter and dipped into cinnamon sugar. For the baby shower, I covered them in fondant with cream cheese frosting under it to make a mosaic of Pooh.

A note about cinnamon–have you bought new cinnamon lately? I was talking to a friend in the process of making these about how it really is the first spice to go bad. And not really bad, but just flavorless. I bought a new jar of cinnamon for the second batch, and the difference was astounding. If your cinnamon is more than a few months old, it’s time to toss it. But buy the new one first and smell the difference. You’ll be astounded.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 6:43 pm

    Just made these muffins. Wonderful. Thank you!

  2. ErinG permalink
    January 14, 2012 12:15 pm

    I made these this morning for my husband’s birthday! I was out of milk so I melted vanilla ice cream. lol. It’s delicious! Thanks!

  3. Becky Wright permalink
    May 10, 2012 9:08 pm

    I love your recipe! We have made them twice now. My kids fight over them. I wanted to post it on pinterest but there is no picture. 😦

Leave a Reply

