Skip to content

Not quite Oreos, but perhaps even better

February 18, 2010

I stumbled across mybakingaddiction.com a few days ago and saw this post that claimed to be a recipe for homemade Oreos. I disagree that they taste much like Oreos (at least my version didn’t), but they are magically delicious. I never even got around to making the buttercream she recommends filling them with. Here’s my adaptation:

1 1/4 cups self-rising flour (I was out of baking soda, hence this switch. It worked fine.)
1/2 cup cocoa–my current baking preference is about half Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa and half Ghirardelli
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 egg
mini chocolate chips, as many as you like

1. Preheat oven to 375°F.

2. Mix the flour, cocoa, and sugar. Then add in the butter and egg on low speed. I used the KitchenAid. I imagine that if you have only handheld beaters, it’s going to get tough to work with in the end. It will eventually turn into a pretty solid, Play-Doh-eque ball. That part took longer than I expected, though, so be patient. It’ll happen.

3. This step is the flaw in the plan. I tried to add the chocolate chips here. The dough was too stiff. So you might try adding them in earlier–I think it should work out that way. But if you forget like I did, you can just toss some chips into a fist-sized ball of dough, work the chips in, and take step 4 from there.

4. Roll teaspoons of dough into balls and place them on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet two inches apart. (I didn’t know it was important to specify the cookie sheet until I was mid-cookie process and told my husband I could use some help. He tore off parchment paper but didn’t give me a cookie sheet. When I inquired as to the logic, he said, “Well, I didn’t know what you were doing with it.” I should mention this is a guy who took baking classes, not one who thinks cookies only come out of a plastic tray from Nabisco.)

5. Bake for 9 minutes, then cool on cookie racks.

6. Try to resist eating them all at once.

Since I never got as far as filling them, here’s a visualization. Come to think of it, if you have the critical ingredient on hand, snow cream filled cookies would probably be pretty awesome.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

