Skip to content

Christmas cookies

December 6, 2008

It’s cookie party day! So far I’ve made double chocolate cookies with a combination of Ghirardelli and Special Dark and Moravian ginger cookies. I’ve got the dough refrigerating for a variation on a Martha Stewart recipe for espresso-chocolate bites.

While I was making the first two, I took a lot of process photos. Here are those and the variations I made to the double chocolate recipe. (Not that it needed any–those are the best cookies in the world.)

Double Chocolate Cookies
My slight variation on the recipe at opensourcefood.com:

– 1 cup all-purpose flour
– 1/4 cup Ghirardelli cocoa powder
– 1/4 cup Hershey Special Dark cocoa
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp coarse salt
– 1 stick unsalted butter
– 1 1/4 cups sugar
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 2 eggs
– a 4 oz. bar Nestle Chocolatier 62%
– a small (2 oz?) bar of 65% Hershey Cacao Reserve
– half a bag (6 ounces) Hershey Special Dark chocolate chips

Those last three were the really odd part. I forgot about the chocolate when I was shopping, so I had to go with what was in the house! But I think it worked out fine. I otherwise followed the instructions. I used the large bar to chop and the small bar and chips for the mixing in from step 2.

Chopping the chocolate

Cookies headed in!

Moravian ginger cookies
I ended up using the Old Salem version of the recipe. I used the measurements from the second line of my table, but divided again by two. I thought based on the original that that would be about 100 cookies, but in reality, it was closer to 50.

The numbers translated, with a lot of rounding:

– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1/2 cup brown sugar
– 1 1/2 Tb margarine
– 1 1/2 Tb shortening
– 1/2 cup molasses
– 1/4 Tb baking soda
– 1 Tb boiling water
– 1/4 Tb each of cloves, cinnamon, and ginger

Instructions here.

Next time I would add a little more of the spices, not much. It’s hard to roll them thin enough, but I needed to go a little thinner. And I baked exactly 10 minutes, but I think I might go 1 or 2 longer.

My imprecisely measured spices

The dough after the last bit of flour

The “shiny” dough waiting to be rolled

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

