Skip to content

Moon!

September 26, 2007

Amusingly enough, the first item in the list WordPress gives me of sites linking to this one is the headline, “That’s no moon…” referring to the Death Star. But this is a moon! Since moon pictures seem to be all the rage on the internets today, I decided to run outside for a few minutes and try it myself. I didn’t really think I could with what I have, but I noticed on that second link that a guy had listed the settings he had used with a camera and lens almost identical to mine, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

Of course I left my tripod mount on the video camera at work. So I laid the tripod sideways on the roof of my car and propped the camera up on that. Never let it be said that I have patience. Because you know, the moon might not be there tomorrow night. So here’s what I got!

Exposure: 0.001 sec (1/800)
Aperture: f/13
Focal Length: 300 mm

Then there’s this one:

Exposure: 0.2 sec (1/5)
Aperture: f/8
Focal Length: 300 mm

This was one of the first two pictures I took when I decided to try to get a moon picture. I was just rolling through settings, and here’s where I started.

What’s interesting is the double moon effect. The bright one on the right is the one I saw in the viewfinder. The shadowy double, if you zoom in on the original, actually contains the detail of moon surface. What’s further interesting about it is that I saved this shot because I saw the double on my D50’s screen, but when I downloaded it, I couldn’t see the "shadow" moon until I blew up the levels.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

