Skip to content

How to make the Death Star cake

September 25, 2007

I posted the Death Star cake back in April, and I’m still getting about 100 hits/month on it, plus fairly regular emails asking for a “how to.” I really only spent about an hour on it just to do a quick and fun cake. One day maybe I’ll do Death Star 2.0. But here’s what I sent the most recent requester about how this one was made:

The Death Star cake is super easy if you have an airbrush. I used the Wilton ball pan, which you can get from Michael’s, AC Moore, Hobby Lobby, or anywhere you’d get the Wilton pans. I scooped out the dent in the side with a knife (I suspect a melon baller would be perfect, but I don’t have one of those) and frosted the whole thing with a gray buttercream. Then I used black airbrush color to spray on the pattern. I just googled up a picture of the Death Star and looked at it to freehand on the design. Nobody’s memorized exactly how many rows there are or things like that, so as long as it’s similar, you’re good. And that’s it!

If you don’t have an airbrush, my second plan had been to do the same thing but use black marshmallow fondant for the black parts. For marshmallow fondant, melt marshmallows with a little water on them and add powdered sugar until it’s stiff enough to work with. Here are very detailed instructions that make it sound harder than it is. If you have a KitchenAid, just let the dough hook do the work for you. After it’s made, you can roll it out and cut shapes. To get it black, the easiest thing might be to use the chocolate marshmallows if you can find them or to add cocoa powder before you use black dye. I haven’t actually tried either of those things yet, though.

Good luck! Send me a picture if you do it!

Leave a Reply

