Skip to content

Guitar and Death Star

April 13, 2007

Update: Death Star instructions post

These were both for co-worker birthdays.

The guitar I did based on pictures of his own guitar, and he seemed pleased with the resemblance:

guitar cake

The Death Star was just to prove that round cakes aren’t that hard. 🙂

death star cake

It was also the first time I tried making red velvet. I decided it would be an amusing way to reference Clerks.

PS – I discovered yesterday that when we reinstalled Gallery, all the photos on here turned into other things. In case you weren’t sure, my lemon cake wasn’t a grainy underwater display, and my kid wasn’t my birthday cake. Oops! I’ll get it fixed soon.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2007 4:42 pm

    Best use of the dark side ever! 😉

  2. April 13, 2007 5:33 pm

    How did you make these, please email me step by step instructions…

  3. April 13, 2007 10:58 pm

    that’s no cake … it’s a space station.

    [please insert star wars cake related quotes here]

  4. April permalink
    April 14, 2007 10:59 am

    my son (age 8) is obsessed with star wars and he loved your cake!! it was fantastic! can you please email me directions on how you did it? I can’t tell how you put the lines and squares on the outside…..and i have no idea how to make a round cake.
    thank you so much and have a great day,
    April

  5. April 14, 2007 10:36 pm

    The Emperor will be pleased with your progress. Lucky for you, that means that he just might skip the personal visit.

    A HOW-TO for the Death Star Cake would be a wonderful contribution to the SF Baking community. I have very basic cake-making skills, but I cannot even visualize how a round cake would be possible!

  6. Laura Clarke permalink
    May 23, 2007 5:32 am

    Instructions would be great, thanks

  7. steve permalink
    May 26, 2007 10:08 pm

    ahem…
    (note: all snarkiness is meant purely in jest…cheers, cakemaker)

  8. Kristen permalink
    July 1, 2007 8:06 pm

    Would it be possible for you to post or email directions for the Death Star cake? Thanks in advance!

  9. Lisa permalink
    September 23, 2007 10:24 am

    Yes, please tell how you did that!
    My son’s birthday is next weekend and he would flip for a cake like that!
    Thanks
    Lisa

  10. monica permalink
    October 21, 2007 2:04 am

    PLEASE let me know how you did the death star! I was asked to make one for a grooms cake.. any help would be GREAT!
    thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Hobby Hobby - collecting more hobbies, one at a time
  2. Just for you, Dan

Leave a Reply

